AICC Recognizes Recipients of the 2024 Independent Safe Shop Awards

AICC, The Independent Packaging Association, proudly acknowledges and honors the exceptional commitment to safety exhibited by its member companies through the presentation of the 2024 Independent Safe Shop Awards. These awards recognize outstanding performance in plant safety over the past year, reflecting a steadfast dedication to the well-being of employees.

The Independent Safe Shop Awards, a hallmark initiative of AICC, serves as a testament to the industry’s unwavering commitment to fostering safe working environments. Companies that have demonstrated exemplary safety records and adherence to stringent safety protocols were recognized at the 2024 Spring Meeting.

Member companies had to meet rigorous criteria to qualify for this prestigious recognition, including maintaining a 2023 OSHA Recordable Incident Rate of less than 3.0 and achieving a 2023 OSHA Lost Work Days Incident Rate of zero.

The esteemed recipients of the 2024 Independent Safe Shop Awards are:

  • Akers Packaging Service Group, locations include: 
    • Chicago
    • Hoosier
    • Huntington
    • Middletown
    • Mount Vernon
    • Webster West
  • American Packaging Corp.
  • Leaman Container
  • Master Packaging, locations include:
    • Borden
    • Dieppe
  • Niagara Sheets
  • Unicorr Packaging/Vermont Container
  • Wunderlich Fibre Box Company

These companies exemplify the highest standards of safety excellence within the packaging industry, setting a benchmark for their peers to aspire to. Their dedication to ensuring the well-being of their workforce underscores the core values of AICC and reinforces the importance of prioritizing safety in all aspects of operations.

“Every AICC member makes safety priority one in their operations. It’s always a pleasure to award those members that achieve this recognition as a part of their safety initiatives,” said AICC President Mike D’Angelo. “We like to see this list of winners grow each year!”

As champions of safety and innovation, these award recipients embody the spirit of the independent, driving positive change and setting new standards for excellence in plant safety.

For more information about the Independent Safe Shop Awards and AICC’s ongoing initiatives, please visit